2004-02-19 - 10:41 p.m. -



9:35pm.
�As we point out the safety features of the Boeing 767�

delay in alanta as the spoiled child in the seat in front of me repeatedly kicks my bag. i return it back to its home under the seat only to have it kicked again. this silent exchange continues for almost ten minutes, involving the kid, myself & both of his parents. they grow incredulous, both with their overfed offspring & with me. i would be more than happy to move my bag� they need only ask. but they don�t ask & i am just pissed & tired enough not to offer.

round one ends with the kid shifted to a different seat & the mother stomping off to another part of the aircraft. have a nice flight.

9:48pm.
Please discontinue the use of portable electronic devices.

a ComAir jet rolls by the window & i think it says ConAir & my thoughts jumble with a mix of convicts & blow dryers.

the lights of alanta glitter & fade below us. they blend with the thin cloud cover to form an orange-black sea. soon, darkness quilts the plane & we fly silently into an inkwell night.

11:52pm.
as we touchdown in boston i remove my bag from under the seat & reach into the end pouch (where the boy was kicking) to retrieve my keys. too late i discover that the kicking & shoving has knocked the cover off of my razor. i pull the keys from the pouch & leave a fair amount of my index finger behind.

sometimes karma comes in the form of a Bic disposable.