2004-04-01 - 2:54 p.m. -



I swear, as God is my witness, I thought turkeys could fly
-Les Nessman, WKRP in Cincinnati

i have not been posting lately. been laying low & taking care of myself. finally got rid of the sinus/ear infection that has been dogging me for a month now. this has also led me to start cutting down on my smoking (from full flavor to ultra lights) & backing off on the coffee a bit. (down to two pots a day) thinking again about getting myself into better shape than i�m in now. can�t keep pretending that i�m in the same health i was 20 years ago. time to start taking care of myself a bit better than i have.

**************

Rives did a wonderful feature at the hut on sunday. humor, depth, good interaction with the room & a well-chosen set made the evening very enjoyable. if you have not booked Rives yet, you should. the slam was smoking with a nice mix of poets & styles. very close scores & good audience reaction. all in all, it was a wonderful evening of poetry. i needed a night like that.

***************

been swamped at work. busy moving equipment around & trying to get the new workshop set-up so i can renovate the conservation lab before the next exhibit starts. the trouble is, i work with very heavy equipment & it is kicking my ass to move it. makes the process move a bit slower than i�d like. oh well, at least it is moving forward.

**************

Cinderella Still Waits
But cleans up nicely. Tall DWPF, 56, blond,
H/W proportionate, practicing Christian,
lots of hair and teeth, generous, mannerly,
neat, loves children. Seeks same.

-Worcester Magazine Personals

there is something about this ad that weirds me out. i think it is the lots of hair and teeth part that does it. it sounds like it could be a personal ad from Tammy Fae Bakker. just strange, that�s all.

***************

one of the odd aspects of my job�
there are two small bags sitting on my desk right now, one has part of a gauntlet from a child�s armor, the other has a two-pound meteorite. the care & cleaning of both of these things falls to me. beats just doing paperwork i guess.

****************

feels strange to not be going to slammasters this weekend. i�m betting that it will feel even stranger when i�m not at nationals this summer. it will be the first nationals in 10 years that i have not gone to. hoping to take the time (& money) that i would spend at nationals & try doing something else. perhaps some weekend trips or a short tour. perhaps take some time off to work on the house or just to paint. have to see what the summer brings. as for this weekend, i can�t say i�m going to miss the 18 hour drive after being in meetings all day.

*****************

time to get back to work.
hope you all have a good night.

be well.