2004-05-05 - 12:31 p.m. -



quiet.

for the first time in a few weeks, it is quiet at work.

work continues just outside my office. the carpenters, electrician & dry waller talk softly in a fast-paced but lilting spanish. they are all in a good mood, having just returned from a long weekend in Puerto Rico. (where they are all from) the electrician talks about his hometown & how different it is from where he grew up in the Bronx. he speaks of warm breezes & cool evenings & then gets this look in his eyes that makes me smile. he loves Puerto Rico on a personal level & it shows every time he talks about the island. i find something comforting in this. i find something comforting in the soft spanish floating in the air just outside my office door.

life has been very crazy the past few weeks & the calm filling my office area right now is a welcome change. sometimes all i need is just a few minutes of calm to erase hours of insanity. sometimes i just need the chance to catch my breath.

***** ****************** *****

well, so much for quiet.

they have picked up the pace of construction & my intern just came in. the noise level has taken a major jump & there will be no more quiet until quitting time. oh well, it was nice while it lasted.

the stress level at work is crazy right now. the staff dynamics have been thrown into the blender. one person in my department, who we thought was leaving in september, is being asked to leave this friday. there will be much upheaval over the next few weeks & i�m not looking forward to dealing with that on top of my already overloaded list. 90% of the time i love my job. it is the other 10% that kicks my ass.

***** ***************** *****

having one of those stretches where i feel like i can�t do anything right. this is frustrating beyond almost anything else i know. i don�t like when i can�t fix something & i really hate when my attempts to fix something just make it worse.

(i was tempted to go on a tangent about my past & how my frustration stems from my experiences, but i�ll skip the deep analyses for today. no excuses, just accept & move on.)

i�m hoping that things will improve soon. i have a massage tonight & that often acts as an emotional & spiritual reset for me. lets see how it goes.

***** ***************** *****

i�m babbling again. that is my cue to wrap it up & get back to work.

hope you all have a good day.

be well.