2001-11-09 - 1:14 p.m. -




my friend (and upstairs neighbor) alixa is learning tattooing.
I am her guinea pig
I am the first person she has ever tattooed.
it is a learning experience for both of us
she is learning how to tattoo people
I am having a great lesion on trust

here is how it goes �

she works on me. she learns how much ink to use
how much pressure to use
how to mix inks
how to touch up
how to fix mistakes.

I learn to have faith in someone
to trust what they are doing
to roll with the mistakes
to stay calm when she gets frustrated
to remind myself that the body is just a shell
to remember that a little pain is good sometimes
to sit sill
that things take time
to relax and enjoy sharing a learning experience with another person.

Last night we worked on shading

It was a rough start
she could not get the mix right
she had to go over some of the areas 3 or 4 times
it got sore� real sore

But it came out good
she learned what she was doing wrong (and right)
by the end she had it down

Is it world�s greatest tattoo?
no

Am I enjoying the process?
hell yeah
to watch the spark in her eyes when she gets it right makes it
worth it. she is a wonderful artist, and someday soon
she will be a wonderful tattoo artist.

And I�ll get free tattoos for life
and some great life lessons.

----------------------------------------------

Today�s Stats
Coffee Count: 5 mugs
Cigarettes: 4
Candy: 1 DumDum Pop
Now Playing: Totally Wired- Post Punk Compilation

more later today...