2003-01-23 - 1:32 p.m. -




the heating duct is keeping my office in the low 60s but not much else. it is still too cold to get a lot of my work done & i�m running out of time. thinking of building a fireplace in my office & burning the scrap wood in the shop. bet it would work until i got in trouble for having an open fire in a chemical storage area. (yes, i store chemicals in my work area� explains a lot i bet.) spent the morning looking for a hefty space heater that will warm the space without blowing up the lab or requiring me to rewire the place. most plug-in heaters just don�t have the balls to heat the space & i can�t find a good non-gas heater. like you care about any of this, but it is hard to be chipper when your testicles are in your chest because it is so cold.

on the same line of bitching�
the combination of the dry, cold air & the chemicals i�ve been using to clean objects (& the repeated hand washing that goes with it) has left my hands a complete mess. they are dry to the point of splitting open & hurt like a sonofabitch. not even the bag balm is doing any good at this point. my knuckles are cracked & both of my thumbs have split open. i�m starting to feel like a leper.

on the up side of things�
had a quiet night last night. spent the night doing laundry & setting up collages for painting on friday. not much in the way of good trash TV last night (how is that for an oxymoron) but relaxed nonetheless. think i�ll grab some movies for tomorrow night. something silly perhaps. wonder if the best of COPS uncensored is on DVD yet? maybe i�ll get Girls Gone Wild IV- We�ll Regret This Once We Sober Up. see what they have at the store.

i started smoking light cigarettes the other day. the full flavor (like we smoke for the taste) are starting to take their toll on me. i�ve been smoking for over 20 years & i�m starting to feel it catching up with me. i�ve tried quitting before, but i think the time has come to really give it an honest shot. i�ll start with the lights & try to step down a bit. rather not endanger the lives of those around me by going cold turkey just yet. i would like to be down to less than half a pack by the spring. take it as it comes.

off to providence tonight. catch the reading at AS220 & perhaps hit Miko while i�m down there. they seem to be the only place in the northeast that carries the condoms i like. (yes, there are other styles of condoms besides Trojan & Lifestyles. some of them even come non-lubricated. Gasp!) it will be nice to get out & relax for a night. bring on the coffee & slam poetry.

more tomorrow.
keep warm.
--------------------------- ------------------------
Today�s Stats
Coffee Count: 5 mugs
Cigarettes: 10
Candy: some M&Ms
Now Playing: none
----------------- ----------------------------------
�If I�d known I was Going to live this long, I�d have taken better care of myself.�
-Jimmy Durante